Curriculum

At SLBS is not only defined as a place where students study, but also as a collective learning community and a place of education for all. Everyone who enters this space is using their own life experiences to interpret education. As a result the Little Bridge hosts three sets of curriculums: the Student Curriculum, the Teacher Curriculum and the Parent Curriculum.

Curriculum Philosophy

At Shanghai Little Bridge School, the curriculum is the sum of student's life on campus. All the experiences the children have in school, including what they see, hear, taste, hear and feel, are all part of the curriculum. This broad sense of what a curriculum can mean includes four primary dimensions: the campus environment, the language system, the subject-based classrooms and pedagogical research. The campus environment motivates children with an atmosphere of free exploration. The language system precisely expresses our values and training objectives. The subject-based classrooms emphasize borderless, inquiry-based learning. Pedagogical research will ensure the professional and iterative development of the curriculum.

Key Areas

SLBS curriculum focuses on three key areas of learning: character, scientific literacy and aesthetic accomplishments. Character is the foundation for taking initiative and cultivating children's characters requires many elements including helping them form strong characters, optimistic spirits, adventurous attitudes, and a grateful mentality. On this basis, a child should be able to develop the parallel abilities of rationality and aesthetic intelligence. The former refers to scientific literacy and the ability to deal with problems with scientific thinking, while the latter refers to the ability to experience beauty and create beauty. In the future, artificial intelligence is likely to help solve most quantitative problems and replace such professions. As such, having a set of balanced reasoning and aesthetic abilities will become the most competitive advantage for children to develop.

Implementation Approach

The content of the Little Bridge curriculum will be based on national courses using existing courses from Pinghe, while also including additional special courses which match the Little Bridge education philosophy, including subjects such as Chinese characters, the history of science, culinary education, English-based theatre, folk music, swimming, and philosophy for children. The overall classroom organization approach will adopt project-based learning (PBL) methods, and an integrated model focused on the learning community and interdisciplinary studies which can help break down the gaps between the classroom and real life, and thereby give children more opportunities to utilize their knowledge from various subjects to solve real world problems. With such a learning model, teachers withdraw from being the center of the classroom, while students move in to become classroom leaders. The result is that students are more motivated to learn and develop their problem-solving abilities.

Featured Course Example

Featured Course Example
  • Chinese Language
  • Chinese Characters Thinking
  • English Language
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Philosophy for Children
  • Physical Education
  • Culinary Education
  • Fine Arts
  • Music
  • Folk Music & Traditional Chinese Instrument
  • Teacher Curriculum
  • Parent Curriculum
Focusing on philosophical and historical stories, this set of courses will help children solidify literacy in their mother tongue and provide them with a deeper understanding of Chinese culture and its historical context.

课程介绍

在筑桥人的定义里,学校不只是学生上学的地方,而是一个学习共同体,一个教育的场所。每个人进到这个场所,都在用自己的生活诠释教育。所以,筑桥的课程有三套,除了学生课程,还有教师课程、家长课程,其中,有一些主题,学生、教师、家长还会共同学习。

课程理念

在筑桥实验小学,课程是学生校园生活的总和。孩子们在学校中的所有经历,包括所见、所听、所尝、所闻、所感,都是课程的一部分。这个大课程的概念包括四个维度:校园环境、语言体系、学科课堂、教育学研究。校园环境为孩子提供自由探索的氛围和动力,语言体系准确地表达我们的价值观和培养目标,学科课堂强调无边界的探究性学习,教育学研究将保证课程的专业性和迭代发展。

关键领域

筑桥课程最关注的三个领域是品格、科学素养和美学素养。品格是行动力的基石。培养一个孩子的品格,包括帮助他们形成坚毅的品质,乐观的精神,敢于冒险的态度,感恩的心态等等。在此基础上,一个孩子应该同时具有理性和感性两个方面的能力。理性能力,指的是科学素养和运用科学思维方式处理问题的能力;感性能力,指的是感受美创造美的能力。在未来,能够量化的知识和职业都会被人工智能解决和替代,平衡发展的理性和感性能力会成为孩子们的核心竞争力。

实施路径

筑桥课程的内容会在国家课程基础上,一方面沿用平和已有的优秀校本课程,同时增加符合筑桥教育理念特色课程,包括汉字思维、科学史、食育、英文戏剧、民乐、游泳、社会品格等。在课堂组织方面,融入项目式学习(PBL)、学习共同体和跨学科整合模式,以打破课堂和现实生活之间的隔阂,让孩子们有机会运用他们所学到的各个学科的知识解决真实生活中的问题。在这样的学习模式中,教师会退出课堂中心的角色,学生成为课堂的主导者,充分激发孩子们的学习动力并发展解决问题的能力。

特色课程示例

特色课程示例
  • 语文
  • 汉字思维
  • 英语
  • 数学
  • 科学
  • 儿童哲学
  • 体育
  • 食育
  • 美术
  • 音乐
  • 民乐
  • 教师课程
  • 家长课程
以教育部统编教材为主轴,以汉字思维与历史故事为内涵,让孩子扎实母语素养,在通晓历史脉络的基础上,浸润中华文化。